My Daughter’s First Test: In Kindergarten

I commented at some length on this post. I did it using iOS7, which I despise, and my spelling. & syntax are garbled beyond belief, but I think it’s important to see that the current educational DEfotms have a history. And they never worked then , just like they ain’t working now.
(Heck, Parts of Virginia tried and gave up bonus and merit pay for teachers 20 years ago or so.

Diane Ravitch's blog

A reader writes:

 

In my daughter’s Kindergarten class here in Palm Beach County, Florida, she just had her first test–in Kindergarten!!! Each student was separated by a cardboard wall of blinders around them and they were given a five page test on numbers one through five. They had to write the number, the word for the number and draw how many dots represented the number. At a local union meeting, I asked a Kindergarten teacher from another school if she did that in her classroom–surround each student by blinders. She nodded in affirmation. We’re told “They have to be prepared to be tested in first grade.” I remember when I went to Kindergarten in the sixties. Kindergaraten was a half a day. We played with blocks, wooden choo choo trains, had snack and naptime. The teacher tried to teach us how to tell time, but I couldn’t make heads…

View original post 194 more words

Published in: on September 25, 2013 at 5:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gfbrandenburg.wordpress.com/2013/09/25/my-daughters-first-test-in-kindergarten/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

