Support Ras Baraka!!

I just heard a speech by Ras Baraka at Busboys And Poets at 14th and V Streets NW in DC.

Wow!! Ras Baraka is GREAT!! He’s someone saying what I’ve been trying to say for a long time! I have to admit that I have tears in my eyes as I write this. He’s running for mayor of Newark to succeed that member of the billionaire’s wing of the Democratic Party, Cory Booker.

nora ras baraka 002

My admission was comped as a blogger and the first glass of great Cabernet Sauvignon was free; I paid for the second glass of wine and donated $100 to his campaign. It’s important that people from the Democratic wing of the Democratic Party actually win, instead of candidates like Cory Booker, Arne Duncan, or Emanuel Rahm, who represent the 1/10 of 1% just as much as any Republican politician.

I recorded the speech (with permission) and will figure out how to disseminate it best. I may transcribe it.

A few inaccurate quotes that I attempted to write down in real time:

“The struggle for democracy in the USA had never been finished– our job is to finish it”

“As mayor of Newark my job is to protect and improve the public sector, not to sell it off”

“The problem in Newark is not about smart mayors; it’s something systemic”

” which side are you on? My grandma always said there’s nothing in the middle of the road except yellow lines and dead armadillos”

[paraphrasing]; It’s really weird when you get someone quoting my dad [the late Amiri Baraka, born Leroi Brown] or MLK or Nelson Mandela and then they say ‘I’m closing down your school and giving it away to some billionaire’

[paraphrasing] it’s fine to fix up the buildings and improve the surroundings in areas that used to  be horribly crime-ridden reas [like here on 14th street NW in DC]; but now that it’s actually improved, let people who look like me continue to live there!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gfbrandenburg.wordpress.com/2014/03/08/support-ras-baraka/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

